Knife and Tool Selection

Click on Image to see video.

5-Tool Rule

 These 5 tools enable you to either do or make the majority of what you need in the field.

  1. Knife (and Backup Knife)
  2. Chopper
  3. Saw
  4. Awl
  5. Hook Knife

Here is a list of the tools featured in the video for your convenience:

Wazoo Survival Gear Viking Whetstone Pendant https://amzn.to/2P6uhuv 

LT Wright GNS Scandi in O1 https://amzn.to/2r7JstS 

LT Wright Genesis Scandi in A2 https://amzn.to/2FU10DU 

LT Wright Larry Roberts Signature Genesis 6 https://www.ltwrightknives.com/larry-roberts-signature-edition-genesis.html 

LT Wright Gen3 Chopper https://amzn.to/2KCT6hh 

LT Wright Overland Machete https://amzn.to/2DP9h9T 

LT Wright Lil Muck https://www.dlttrading.com/lt-wright-lil-muk-a2-flat-ground-black-micarta 

Pathfinder Knife Shop Forest Tool https://www.selfrelianceoutfitters.com/products/forest-tool-curly-maple-by-pks?variant=7455122292785 

Council Tool Wood-Craft Pack Axe https://amzn.to/2DNl2NN 

Wooden Take Down Buck Saw https://www.selfrelianceoutfitters.com/products/wooden-take-down-buck-saw?variant=24820658561 

Crooked Awl https://www.selfrelianceoutfitters.com/products/crooked-awl-by-pks?variant=24819409921 

Packable Draw Knife https://www.selfrelianceoutfitters.com/products/packable-drawknife?variant=24819786177 

Packable Froe https://www.selfrelianceoutfitters.com/products/hand-forged-froe?variant=24819373825  

Carving Gouge https://www.selfrelianceoutfitters.com/products/1-inch-hand-forged-carving-gouge?variant=850165235713 

Mora Carbon Garberg https://amzn.to/2E4khku 

Mora Wood Carving 163 https://amzn.to/2KAazqB 

Gransfors Bruks Wildlife Hatchet https://amzn.to/2DZqU7H 

Gransfors Bruks Small Forest Axe https://amzn.to/2r87nJN 

Cold Steel Special Forces Shovel https://amzn.to/2P2Oamp 

Bahco Laplander https://amzn.to/2E2TGo7 

Silky PocketBoy 130 https://amzn.to/2raWiYd 

Silky PocketBoy 170 https://amzn.to/2P5oy88 

Silky BigBoy 360 https://amzn.to/2zws2vB 

Bahco Chisel Knife https://amzn.to/2P67zTk 

Speedy Stitcher Sewing Awl https://amzn.to/2DNy3qL 

Links are provided for your convenience and reference. However, Joshua Enyart does receive a small commission from anything purchased from Amazon, Wazoo Survival Gear, or TITAN Survival (and is appreciated greatly).

1 thought on “Knife and Tool Selection”

  1. Fist off…………Thank You for your service!
    Second, I like the way you think.
    Couple of things, being a Flint and steel guy you may or not know.
    The Cold Steel Shovel has just enough Rockwell
    To toss a spark with a rock ,7 or better on the MOH’s scale. Put the tip down on a stump and put out some char under it and it will catch.
    Also, the Bacho,and some axe tips from american makers will toss a good spark, my Gransfors and Wetterling are poor at this.
    Enjoyed the video, it was like hearing myself preach..
    Stay Safe.
    Mike.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *